What if?

What if one day I lost my mind?
Will the world still be kind?
 
What if one day I turned blind?
My inner beauty – will they find?

What if one day I lost my limbs?
Will people still give me a glimpse?
 
What if one day I lost my hearing?
Will others’ concern for me be fast disappearing?
 
What if one day I lost my leg?
Will I’ve someone to carry me to my bed?
 
What if one day I went dumb?
Will my emotions say I’m numb?
 
What if one day I’m paralysed?
Will I be monopolized?
 
What if one day I’m rendered immobile?
Then, should I get to live a life of low profile?
 
What if one day my heart weakens?
Can’t I even enjoy my weekends?
 
What if one day my husband denies to care for me?
Then, will I lose my past life of glee?
 
What if one day my children feel ashamed of me?
I’m struggling hard – will they not see?
 
What if one day I fall dead?
That’s the day I’d lie peacefully on my bed…
 
Well, I was just musing that people like me coz I might seem beautiful to them and wondered what their reactions might be if I lost all my beauty… this poem is the result of such a thought…
What-if
 
Leave a Reply

